Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: New to empicism (Read 15933 times) previous topic - next topic

New to empicism

Hi all,

I'm conducting a test as part of my degree course to research any perceived differences in analog and digital audio. I'm proposing a double-blind within subjects ABX test with both vinyl and CD stimuli over a number of genres, recorded to 24-bit/96kHz (audible clicks/pops removed) and administered in a controlled listening environment (studio containing Blue Sky 5.1 monitor system and Pro Tools HD with D-Command console).

Like the subject header says, I'm new to all this, so was just wondering if anyone had any advice/constructive criticism for me please?

New to empicism

Reply #1
My advice is don't bother. There will be no problem successfully ABXing vinyl vs, CD, and all you will be left with is asking people's preference for one over the other.

New to empicism

Reply #2
I'm sure this must have been already done, but wouldn't ABXing a digital recording of a vinyl recording against the vinyl recording itself be worthwhile?

New to empicism

Reply #3
I'm sure this must have been already done, but wouldn't ABXing a digital recording of a vinyl recording against the vinyl recording itself be worthwhile?

That's been tried, with an analog signal either going through ADC -> DAC or directly, and they were unable to ABX it.

New to empicism

Reply #4

That's been tried, with an analog signal either going through ADC -> DAC or directly, and they were unable to ABX it.

I'm not at all surprised it's been done, and that those were the (worthwhile) results. 

New to empicism

Reply #5