Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Audacity - How to export WAV files that are over 0 db in 32 bit floating? (Read 3076 times) previous topic - next topic

Audacity - How to export WAV files that are over 0 db in 32 bit floating?

I am loading a file into Audacity that was recorded at way over 0 db in floating 32 bit.

I'm new to Audacity. How do i use Audacity to export the file so that all of the clipping is gone and it's all below 0 db?

Thanks.

Re: Audacity - How to export WAV files that are over 0 db in 32 bit floating?

Reply #1
Use Effect->Normalize... and normalize peak amplitude to 0dB (or lower). Then export.

Reply #2
Thank you!!

And will this result in a good file, as if it had all been recorded under 0 db, and no mangling of the waveforms?

Again, thanks.

Reply #3
Use Effect->Normalize... and normalize peak amplitude to 0dB (or lower). Then export.

Ok, it's not under Effect, but under "Volume and Compression" under Effect. But then I see two choices. One is just Normalization, and the other is Loudness Normalization.

What the difference, and which should I pick?

Reply #4
The Amplify effect and regular Normalization target the peak level.  

Loudness Normalization is setting the "perceived loudness" based on the short-term average and frequency content.   It's not checking the peaks so you can end-up with peaks over 0dB.

And will this result in a good file, as if it had all been recorded under 0 db, and no mangling of the waveforms?
It will simply lower the volume.