Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Is this file a legitimate FLAC file? (Read 2326 times) previous topic - next topic

Is this file a legitimate FLAC file?

The file comes from Bandcamp. Audiochecker say it is "MPEG 95%" and Lossless Audio Checker say it is "Upsampled".

I looked at the spectrals and it doesn't look like a typical lossy transcoded FLAC. I'm not an expert analyzing spectrals, what do you think about it?

FLAC from BC

FLAC from CD

mp3

FLAC (from mp3)

Context:
The file belong to an album compilation that contains remastered songs from a demo and from a full-length. This file is part of the full-length. All tracks look pretty similar (cutoff at 14 khz and not mp3 cutoff or shelf).

Re: Is this file a legitimate FLAC file?

Reply #1
Bandcamp is not an authoritative source of music.

This very well may be an MP3 file sold as a FLAC. Blame the uploader of this music, not Bandcamp. They have not been caught selling mp3s as FLACs yet.

Reply #2
Yes, I guess in this cases it's better to stick with the mp3 version.

I must clarify that the FLAC from Bandcamp is not the same as the FLAC from the CD. They come from two different albums. The Bandcamp version is a remastered compilation containing tracks from a demo and the full-length. The CD version is the same song but from the full-length.

Reply #3
That looks like an MP3 file thats been transcoded to lossless.

As birdie said, blamed it on the band. I can recommend ya to contact the band through BC and complain to them. Also, report it to BC.

Reply #4
Bandcamp accepts only FLAC, WAVE or AIFF for upload.