Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Help for PC audio newbie (Read 3253 times) previous topic - next topic

Help for PC audio newbie

Hi

I’m new to PC audio and need some help understanding how to set it up. I use an external USB DAC and dedicated headphone amp on my PC. The PC is a top end gaming rig I built myself (dual GPU’s in Sli, watercooling loop for CPU and GPU’s, 4x140 external radiator). I went for the external  USB DAC as there is no slot accessible for an internal soundcard – I’ve used Creative Audio X-Fi and Asus Xonar DX before. I’ve just bought some better headphones (Sennheiser HD650) and realised I could also use the PC for decent music audio as well as games.

So far, after doing plenty of research, I’ve downloaded Foobar 2000 1.2.3 to replace Windows Media Player to use with my Windows 7 64 bit operating system. I’m also using a Foobar plug-in called WASAPI to bypass the Windows mixer and I leave everything at default (no replay gain, bass boost or other funnies, volume at maximum) – I’m trying to get a bit perfect signal to my DAC. In the Windows advanced sound options I’ve set the shared mode at 44.1/16 (although the DAC is rated at 48/16) and I’ve ticked the two boxes to give applications exclusivity. I’m ripping CD’s to my 2TB hard drive using FLAC which I am given to understand is a lossless codec with light storage compression.