Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Are HDs playing audio files (incl. art) exposed to more wear and tear? (Read 4853 times) previous topic - next topic

Are HDs playing audio files (incl. art) exposed to more wear and tear?

I am curious to learn if the harddrive with the audio files are exposed to significantly more wear and tear for some technical reason, album art files included ofc.

Really the only thing that comes to my mind in particular as a potential problem (I am no expert), is what I imagine to be the scrubbing of files when browsing the music with the album art associated with each file.

Not sure what to think of this.

How much data is cached into the memory and is album art ever cached into memory. Does anybody know how or just if cache'ing works in Foobar?

Edit: I guess I am speculating that since I am faced with a harddrive failure (according to SMART), I can only suspect it to be "bad luck" or possibly something due to it being the harddrive that I have my music stored.

If it mattered, I guess I could keep the music on its own harddrive and keep other files for storage on some separate harddrive. Luckily I have been able to copy the all stuff on my failing harddrive so that the files are safe.

Reply #1
Hard drive failure is random, and it can be emotionally catastrophic when you have no backup (or no money to replace a failed drive).

Because of both of those factors, we often want try to find reasons, but sometimes there simply is none. Music file access is no different than any other type of file access.

Sorry about your lost.
elevatorladylevitateme

Reply #2