Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: How to make exact replica of an audio CD? (Read 3646 times) previous topic - next topic

How to make exact replica of an audio CD?

Being a novice I want to know is there any software(s) that claim to make a replica of an audio CD, including all UPC/ISRC codes? Thanks.
"In the beginning was the Audiophile"

Reply #2
I thought all copying software (i.e. Nero) did an exact copy of whatever CD you choose to put in?

Reply #3
Even with drives that where the read and write offset do not cancel?  What about damaged discs that require a secure ripping technique in order to get error free data?

No, not all copying software is capable of delivering an exact replica of the disc being copied.  In some cases I've found no software capable of delivering an exact replica of the disc being copied (discs with non-null samples beyond the start and end points defined in the TOC, discs with enhanced content).

Reply #4
Even with drives that where the read and write offset do not cancel?  What about damaged discs that require a secure ripping technique in order to get error free data?

No, not all copying software is capable of delivering an exact replica of the disc being copied.  In some cases I've found no software capable of delivering an exact replica of the disc being copied (discs with non-null samples beyond the start and end points defined in the TOC, discs with enhanced content).

Sorry just checking, I guess that's the difference between getting exact replica of a disc and whether the copy does what the original does.

Reply #5