Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: [TOS#6] Converting ALAC to AAC etc. (Read 2768 times) previous topic - next topic

[TOS#6] Converting ALAC to AAC etc.

Greetings,

First and foremost...  I have searched here, there and everywhere but can't seem to find what I'm looking for to answer my questions.  If it's out there handy in easy to comprehend newbie/layman's terms, my apologies and please just point me in the direction and I will be on my way.

I'm very new to the MP3 player world and while I (think) I know what I am trying to ask, I don't know how to phrase it in the correct technological terms.  So I will stammer and babble here a bit in hopes of getting my thoughts across and hope for a response.  If at any point you read something that causes you to think that I understand the process, I'm sorry for misleading you.

My end objective is to do the following:

*Begin burning my cd catalog as well as begin downloading new music online, saving both to a commonly used high quality/lossless format (that is to say will probably still be supported 5 years from now), that will allow me to enjoy a higher level of audio on a home system.

*Burn cd's as well as download online music to an mp3 player at a rate that will give me 15-20% better quality than what my ears can currently discern, while at the same time not overdoing it and wasting space/memory saving at a higher bit rate than neccesary.

*Obtain an MP3 Player that is highly portable (for use while exercising and while driving my peanut Honda Fit), and at the same time delivers very high quality sound (for an MP3 player).