Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Advice on Ripping to WMA Lossless? (Read 7147 times) previous topic - next topic

Advice on Ripping to WMA Lossless?

Apologies at the outset for being a complete newbie to this -- I'm a fairly tech-savvy person with a bit of audio knowledge, but I'm totally new the the specific software and techniques here.

I recently decided to finally get around to ripping my CD collection.  I decided to use WMA Lossless since it'll allow me to stream to my XBox 360 at CD-quality and it will give me "archival" rips to transcode from later if need be.

Newb that I am, I decided to use the Zune software for the ripping.  It was installed, it's pretty automatic, I'm thinking of buying a Zune, and I'd heard good things about its CD lookup abilities.

I ripped several dozen CDs, and had no problems whatsoever.  I had played a few of the rips and been pleased at the quality.  Then I tried playing one which had been ripped from a scratched disc: distortions!  Argh!  I had naively thought that a "lossless" rip would generate an error message if it wasn't reading perfectly.  Now I'm left with about 50-60 rips that MAY have errors and many more left to rip.

So, can anybody tell me what my next step should be?

1.  Is there any easy way to determine which of the already ripped albums might have errors?  Or should I start from scratch?
2.  Is there any software that can do a better job at finding / avoiding errors?  Can it generate WMA Lossless or will I have to transcode from another lossless format?