Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Health: Ways To Be More Resistant To Cold Or Flu? (Read 7417 times) previous topic - next topic

Health: Ways To Be More Resistant To Cold Or Flu?

Hehe, I have seen the weirdest topics in this board, and it's one of the most active I know so... what the heck 

I have recently moved from (sunny warm) Spain to (rainy humid cold) Netherlands. Wonderful country. Thoroughly enjoying it, even with the difficult language! (that I'm studying...  )

However, I am catching colds and flus time and time again...

Anybody knows of any wicked way to avoid it? Any tested way to improve my natural defenses? I don't want to be addicted to any pills or become a walking sweater showcase...

(Just trying my luck...  Would have never thought of asking, but this thread convinced me...  )

Reply #1
Get the cold, enjoy the Nyquil. See you at the next AA meeting!

Reply #2
How about warm beer? 
Have one before going to sleep, and you're completely new man in the morning.
Never tried myself though.

Reply #3
Vitamin C, Echinachea and Zinc are the usual "natural" recommended supplements to take. You are getting sick more often, I think, because you moved to a new place, so your body is not used to the bacteria/viruses in that area. Give it some time, and they will go away even if you don't take anything for it.

Oh, and plenty of fluids. Natural juices like orange or other citrus are great.

Reply #4
Of course, as a side effect, this thread can also be an effective easy humour repository, an spontaneous post count increaser, and a silly waste of time...

@Trelane
Nyquil?? What's that?

@ak