Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Quality Of Mp3 -> Mpc Trascode (Read 9270 times) previous topic - next topic

Quality Of Mp3 -> Mpc Trascode

Hi,
bootlegging a little I have collected some rare stuff but were of course only able to get these samples in 192 kbps mp3.

Now my question is if I transcode these mp3's to mpc --std will the quality-noticeable
decrese be noticeable?
I am not very good at hearing artifacts so I can't very well hear this myself.

The advantages of doing this would be APE2-tags and a considerable lower bitrate.
The mpc's I get is around 80 kbps (well...on the one sample just I tried) so the space saved is noticeable.

Reply #1
If you can't notice, and your the person who will be listening to it, then it doesn't matter....

Reply #2
You'd have to bootleg A LOT in order to make the saved space mean anything.

A quick calculation: You save 112 kbps = 14 kb/sec = 1 Gb for 21 hours of music. That is $1.50 with current harddisk prices.

IMHO tags are pointless when you have file names.

Reply #3
It means something when I'm burning the stuff to cd's.
Well but that not so much the problem...it's the crappyness of the mp3 format that's the motivation.

And tags are not pointless IMO... and especially not with bootlegs where you wanna know what's going on.

Reply #4
...it's the crappyness of the mp3 format that's the motivation.

well unfortunately, if your source is mp3's, transcoding to mpc will remove none of the 'crappyness' of the mp3 format.  It will just make things worse.

Plus most bootlegs I've heard don't exactly have stellar quality to begin with...

Reply #5
...transcode...