Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Problem converting long .m4a's to .mp3 (Read 2619 times) previous topic - next topic

Problem converting long .m4a's to .mp3

Hi,

I have three low-rate .m4a files that I need to convert to .mp3, but I have problems.
I am totally new to foobar2000, I have just installed the program and lame.exe (and let the lame presets point to lame.exe).
Being computer literate I have looked through Preferences in the program, the FAQ and this forum - but have neither found a solution nor a workaround.

* The .m4a files are each over 6 hours long, they are all playable on the computer.
* I select the medium preset for lame (I could really do with a way to get lower bitrate since the original files are very lo-fi), select one file and right-click -> convert.
* It doesn't matter which preset I use, which of the three files I select, or if I choose "Convert" or "Convert to one file" - I get the same problem.
* The problem is that the conversion stops saying that it couldn't write to the output file.
* When it stops, it has already written 2 hours and 15 minutes to the .mp3 file, that file is fine and I can listen to it - but regardless of preset or which input file it stops after 2:15. It's not that all data is there and it just looks smaller/shorter, the conversion aborts after 2:15.

- I can't find anything in the faq or help, but it seems since there is "Convert to one file" the other command would create several shorter files numbered from 001 - but I can't find a setting for duration/size of each part.