Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: -dm -hq -br 32000 (Read 3672 times) previous topic - next topic

-dm -hq -br 32000

Hi, unlearned newbie here... BUT I did a lot of research here some months ago for what would be the best switches if I...

- ... would like good quality (doesn't have to be great, though)
- ... have a voice recording for source
- ... will be putting the results up for streaming / downloading
- and therefore want compatibility with as many mp3 players as possible

Eventually I came across this post and simply decided to use those switches with FastEnc:

-dm -hq -br 32000

I'm using it in a recording / encoding guide in the "Convert to MP3" section, and that's why I'm asking here. (A post asking for input on other parts of the guide is here).

So how do you think those switches work out, with those goals in mine?

(Also, does "-dm" do anything detrimental if the source isn't mono? I kinda figured not and just leave it in even if I don't have a mono source.)

Thanks for your help!

-dm -hq -br 32000

Reply #1
Looks good.

I was about to mention that HQ is almost as bad as fast mode because of problems with jstereo, but it should be fine in mono.

-dm -hq -br 32000

Reply #2
Looks good.

I was about to mention that HQ is almost as bad as fast mode because of problems with jstereo, but it should be fine in mono.
[a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=241373"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

-hq has a problem with JS?

-dm -hq -br 32000

Reply #3
Whoops! It looks like 22khz won't be accepted by some mp3 players according to this post:

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....indpost&p=72086