Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Replaygain in Foobar 2000 (Read 5999 times) previous topic - next topic

Replaygain in Foobar 2000

I am completely new to replaygain.

As far as i have understood, Foobar simply stores replaygain information (in tags?), instead of actually changing the sound level of the file like mp3gain does (?).

Is this correct?

Does Foobar store the information in the tags of the files, or in it's own database? If it store the information in tags, could these tags cause problems in other players?

And finally, how do i remove the replaygain from the files? Is there a simple "remove replaygain tag" command somewhere?

Reply #1
Foobar simply stores replaygain information (in tags?), instead of actually changing the sound level of the file like mp3gain does (?).

Yes

Does Foobar store the information in the tags of the files, or in it's own database?

Tags

If it store the information in tags, could these tags cause problems in other players?

I dont think they would.. but possibly

And finally, how do i remove the replaygain from the files? Is there a simple "remove replaygain tag" command somewhere?

Just right click the song(s) and choose Replaygain/Remove replaygain info from files

Reply #2
Foobar simply stores replaygain information (in tags?), instead of actually changing the sound level of the file like mp3gain does (?).

Yes

Depends on the file type.
With mpc files it is stored in the header for example.

Reply #6
It stores the information in tags AND its database.

If the file doesn't support the needed tags, then its only written to the DB.