Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: 1st attempt with Xvid (Read 5121 times) previous topic - next topic

1st attempt with Xvid

I am a complete and utter noob when it comes to encoding with any MPEG-IV codecs (I used to go from DVD-SVCD using DVDX, which was incredibly simple, although my old PIII used to take a day per hour of footage ).  Last night (as the subject tells you), I had my 1st attempt with Xvid, and followed the Doom9 Guide (The Gordian Knot, simple one), to the nail ...

Movie in Question is one of my childhood faves, Groundhog Day (1:37), which I wanted to use xvid to span over 2 cd's.

However, when I woke up this morning, I find the following issues:

In the 'Projects' directory, I have several .avi files, one of which is just the Xvid without any sound and about 3 with the vbr-mp3 sound.  Two of these files are the movie 'twice'.  i.e. back2back, and 3 hours long!  And there is another couple of .avi's which are about a gig in length (so no good for a cd (or even for splitting onto 2, really)).

The DVD is from an old analogue source, I guess, and so it has black spots appearing randomly, like old films do.  The encoding has HUGE blocks and stretched images when these irregularities happen (or at least, I guess that is what is causing them).  The result looks like playing a dvd which you have tied to the back bumper of your car and driven round to your mates house (i.e. watching a really scratched disc).

The .d2v(?) files that were used to encode from looked fine (it was ripped correctly)

Is there anything that can be known to cause such issue's with the guides on doom9?