Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Something that's been bugging me about FLAC... (Read 8673 times) previous topic - next topic

Something that's been bugging me about FLAC...

So, I have been using FLAC for many, many years now and I have ripped countless CDs and encoded them to FLAC for archive purposes as well as general listening. In all these years, something has been bothering me that I don't understand about this codec and I have decided to post here and see if I can get an answer to this nagging question. Not sure why I waited this long to bring this up, but anyways, here goes...

As you all know, FLAC has various "compression" settings which you can select when encoding the file (which never made sense to me since this is supposed to be a lossless codec). Now I understand that these "compression" levels have been likened to how WinZip compresses a file. I sorta get the analogy but there is something else here that still doesn't make sense to me. To illustrate my question/point better, I did a little experiment and listed my results below. I ripped the same exact song at 4 different "compression" levels and the resulting bitrate that I got for each rip is listed as well.

(Uncompressed) - 1412 kbps
Level 0 - 986 kbps
Level 5 (default) - 933 kbps
Level 8 - 931 kbps