Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: I need help trying to understand ReplayGain and its metrics (Read 894 times) previous topic - next topic

I need help trying to understand ReplayGain and its metrics

I've been using ReplayGain for almost two decades now, and I understand at least the basic idea of what it does: It uses pre-calculated tags to determine an appropriate gain modification for each track or album in order to prevent wild swings in listening volume upon playback, all without modifying the stored audio data. I also know that I can preamp the gain lower or higher in a program like foobar2000, from -20dB to +20dB. This much I understand.

What I need help wrapping my head around is the metrics, or the numbers involved. There is another thread here in which the OP is saying that 89dB is too much for specific tracks, and that 85dB is better. What I'm having trouble understanding is what these numbers are derived from; what they are in relation to. Someone also answered me that 89dB in this casecorrelates to -18 LUFS, which is an entirely new measurement to me and I definitely don't understand it aside from that it is meant to be a measure of loudness.