Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: EAC settings for FLAC (Read 5219 times) previous topic - next topic

EAC settings for FLAC

I've been convinced that using eac and flac to rip my cd's to my computer is the best way to go, but I haven't found a detailed guide on how to set up eac properly to do so. I'm a novice on this subject obviously and I am confused in areas such as the offset correction feauture, which ID3 tags settings to use, and if I should use a native or external aspi for windows xp. Command lines are also an issue, currently I'm using: 

-8 -T "artist=%a" -T "title=%t" -T "album=%g" -T "date=%y" -T "tracknumber=%n" -T "genre=%m" %s

Is there a better one to use? I'm completely lost and I've read atleast 4 guides on eac configuration, but all vary in certain areas and I'd like to get it right. Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

EAC settings for FLAC

Reply #1
I'm sure others will soon respond with more insight and details, but I just want to point out that in general it is not a good idea to use ID3 tags with FLAC files. Use you should untick that box, or you will have a double set of tags in each file. Otherwise chances are pretty high that you will run into problems with other software. FLAC files already have powerful metadata (tagging) possibilities, better than the ID3v2 "standard" IMHO.

Also, you might want to consider a lower compression level. I think the sweet spot for many is around -6. With -8 you don't gain that much in file size, while the compression time increases.

EAC settings for FLAC

Reply #2
Are ID3 tags in FLAC even possible?