Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Recording from Turntable with e-mu 1212m and VinylStudio 7.5.1 (Read 7067 times) previous topic - next topic

Recording from Turntable with e-mu 1212m and VinylStudio 7.5.1

Hello,

This is likely a ridiculously easy question, but I'm a total beginner with Patchmix, etc., so thanks.

I'm attempting to record from vinyl to FLAC using VinylStudio at 96/24. Everything sounds great during recording, but I get constant stuttering when I play that recording.

I've set the recording options to 96/24 in VinylStudio, and I've loaded the default 96k Patchmix session. The only adjustment I've made to that session is to set the Aux send to -15 to avoid clipping.

I've used both the Vista drivers that came with the card and the Win 7 beta drivers that were released with the same results.

I'm guessing this is just a dumb Patchmix beginner error, but here's my setup:

Win 7 64-bit
Intel i7 860 (2.80 GHz)
8GB RAM

E-mu 1212m PCIe
Patchmix 2.20
driver version 6.00.01.1246

VinylStudio 7.5.1

Technics SL-1200 MK2
Shure M97XE cartridge
Cambrige 540P Preamp

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Reply #3
What happens if you try a samplerate and bitdepth better suited to the limitations of human hearing, ie, 44.1/16? Does the problem go away then?

Reply #4
Hello,

This is likely a ridiculously easy question, but I'm a total beginner with Patchmix, etc., so thanks.

I'm attempting to record from vinyl to FLAC using VinylStudio at 96/24. Everything sounds great during recording, but I get constant stuttering when I play that recording.