Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: My turntable sounds awful: no bass, very harsh (Read 47515 times) previous topic - next topic

My turntable sounds awful: no bass, very harsh

Help!
im new to the hifi world and im having some very strange issues...i think.
my turntable sounds awful and im not sure why. there is no bass at all, and it sounds very harsh. almost unlistenable. When compared with a cd its evident that my amps and speakers sound great. is there any reason that it would sound so harsh? my current chain is as follows:

rega p2 ->
bellari vp130 ->
Manley Snapper mono blocks ->
Paradigm ref11

Am i missing something i need in my chain? im baffled....
i've just purchased all this stuff, and im trying to get it to work correctly! help!

Reply #1
Once you are new to Hi Fi. Why don't you do the right thing?

Get rid of your turn table. It is obsolete.

The bad results you are getting are characteristics of a turn table. I use to have one. I got rid of it as soon as CDs appeared in the market.

Reply #2
You should post this under "CD-R and Audio Hardware > Vinyl."

I can't help you with your issue but I sure would love to follow a thread like this with comments from those who can. I've been considering a turntable for limited usage and wouldn't mind knowing things about them.

Hopefully someone can help you find an answer to your problems who uses and appreciates vinyl. 
The Loudness War is over. Now it's a hopeless occupation.

Reply #3
It seems you are not the only one to have had problems with this pre-amp: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1174395