Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: thesis on lossless audio compression (Read 7228 times) previous topic - next topic

thesis on lossless audio compression

Hello everyone, i'm new and this is my first topic, so if i make errors please notice me.
I'm an information engineering student of Padova University (italy).

I've to do a thesis about lossless compression, which includes two part,
1) general info about how it works and state of art of algorithms

2) .....

the part 2 is free, for simulation, test some code for compression...

I think it will be nice to do simulation to compare mp3 and flac (for example) audio, with their Fourier Transforms
to evidence the difference between those (i've just made some of this simulations) or evidence that using huffmann coding we use less number of bits .

How i can do this? matlab work well for it??

Any idea to help me is welcome, if you have suggestions for second part write me, also if in your opinion will be nice make some simulation about something you could be interessed!!!!

PS. i've a lot of IEEE publications about this arguments, so about the theory i'm allright, i want to do some practice on signal processing!

Thanks!!!

Reply #1

Greetings from Germany to Italy!

2) .....

I think it will be nice to do simulation to compare mp3 and flac (for example) audio, with their Fourier Transforms

It's like comparing apples to oranges, isn't it? If you want to write about lossless compression there's no need to do any testing of MP3. I also don't see why you would want to compare "their Fourier Transforms".