Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: ELI5 - How FLAC Works (Read 11155 times) previous topic - next topic

ELI5 - How FLAC Works

I am curious about how FLAC works. Although it does compress the size of the files, it uses lossless compression. If it is indeed compressing the file, what exactly does it take out to make this happen, to make the file size smaller?

I’ve read the Wikipedia page on lossless compression, and I am afraid that it is still a bit too technical for me at my current level of understanding.

I am still a newbie at this. Perhaps you could use the Reddit.com method of ELI5? Which means Explain Like I’m 5 (https://www.reddit.com/r/explainlikeimfive/).

Thanks,

jcarruth

ELI5 - How FLAC Works

Reply #1
If it is indeed compressing the file, what exactly does it take out to make this happen, to make the file size smaller?

Let's take an easy example: the beginning and end of a file are usually silence. You can simply say: hey, the first second is silent. That takes you just a few bytes instead of saving the whole silent second. That is one of the compression strategies FLAC uses.