Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Double dithering (Read 7444 times) previous topic - next topic

Double dithering

Hi, I guess this should go in here.

I was wondering what would happen if for example I dither a 24bit 48kHz audio file to 16bit 41.1kHz and then make some changes to it, like applying EQ or Reverb or maybe mix it with another file, and then dither again.

Would that diminish the quality of the sound? If so, how terrible would it be?

Would it be better to use an undithered file in the first place or just to skip the dither for the second time?

Thanks for your responses. B)

Double dithering

Reply #1
I'm not an expert on this. But I know some dithering algorithms (like Type I of Waves L2 Ultramaximizer) that is designed for post dither audioprocessing if necessary. However, as a rule of thumb dither should be applied at the last stage hence if you can avoid feeding a dithered wave into the second stage after which you dither again you should. Or use a dithering algorithm in the first stage that is best suited for that purpose.

"What if I need to do any further editing? Can I use IDR again? Can I use it with another dither algorithm?"

Waves IDR technology can be used over itself or in conjunction with any other dither algorithm. Therefore if it is necessary to use it multiple times you can without fear of harmful side effects. We do suggest that if any further editing is required to use normal noise shaping
The object of mankind lies in its highest individuals.
One must have chaos in oneself to be able to give birth to a dancing star.

Double dithering

Reply #2