Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: dont\' undertsand al these switches -please help! (Read 3474 times) previous topic - next topic

dont\' undertsand al these switches -please help!

I'm quite new to the more advanced options and have some q's

1. --ns-bass: a positive value allocates bits to the high area and a negative does the opposite, am i right ?
so what do positive/negative values in --ns-treble do ?

2. in LAME when a switch can be given a "n" value, does "n" mean you can always only specify a whole number like 4, Or can i use decimal values as well, like ie.
"--athlower 0.5" ?

3. what is gpsycho ? the psycho acoustic model ?
if yes, what is a psych ac. model ? a piece of software modeling how human ears behave/hear ? or was that the ath ? confused..
whats the diference between the ath and the psych model ?

4.  what is scalefac scale ? what did lame do when encspot displays "scalefac scale 6%" under details ?

5. h is same as -q2, -q1 was supposed to be same as -Z and -Z was bad according to r3mix.net a while ago. is this true or has -q1 nothing to do with -Z ?
If i specify "--abr -q1 --nspsytune (and the rest)"  and nspsytune swithes -Z on by default. Does nspsytune by swithing -Z on actually turn -Z (or -q1) off in this case ?

6. if i use lowpass like --lowpass 21 and i covert the encoded mp3 back to wav with lame and then have a look at the decoed file with cooledit (analyze)
i often see lame did cut more than above 21 KHz. in comparison to the original source wav.
The higher freq content above about 16/17KHz is present but not as loud and as much as in the original source wav. why ?