Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Where to download FDK AAC for foobar2k/windows? (Read 62696 times) previous topic - next topic

Where to download FDK AAC for foobar2k/windows?

I'm trying to fit music into an old phone with low space, and it seems that HE-AACv2 and Opus are the best candidates.
I'm new to encoding aac, so I searched a lot and didn't find the fdk aac encoder for windows, just a lot of source code for android.
Also, I know there are other aac encoders like nero and apple but I want to stick to something free/open source.

Re: Where to download FDK AAC for foobar2k/windows?

Reply #1
http://wlc.io/2015/06/20/fdk-aac/ <--- here's one.

Just google for "fdk aac windows build" or something.

I notice the lack of compiled tools, though. However this might be some sort of licensing issue.

Reply #2
I believe the licensing issue is that the license on the source code does not protect anyone from patent licensing issues on the codec.

Reply #3
Couldn't you make a "totally not an AAC encoder" type thing similar to LAME?

Reply #4
LAME developers do not distribute binaries either. For approximately the same reasons.
But I've heard it's not too hard to build.
it seems that HE-AACv2 and Opus are the best candidates
If I were you, I'd just use Opus.
a fan of AutoEq + Meier Crossfeed

Reply #5
LAME developers do not distribute binaries either. For approximately the same reasons.
No, but there were plenty of builds around and they were relatively easy to get. Also, since MP3 patents have expired, the binaries are now considered free. Fedora has them in their main repos now, etc.