Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Filenames with feat. artist / ALAC vs. FLAC (Read 2574 times) previous topic - next topic

Filenames with feat. artist / ALAC vs. FLAC

First and foremost I'd just like to say that I have been browsing Hydrogen Audio for quite some time now and absolutely love it to bits though this is my first time on the site posting, so be nice <3

Okay so I've got a few questions, and I'm sorry if they have already been asked or if there's a thread that blatantly tells me the answers. Please just redirect me to such thread or simply inform me.

I only say this as I've come from forum sites filled with aggressive, pre-pubescent forum users who think they own the site.

Anyway...

1.) Is there a standardization and or is there a preferred way to name your audio files?

I ask of this generally because you'll see in your library you'll have a heap of Artist names that are the same, then every now and again it will say something like "Artist Name (Feat. Name)".
So I'm trying to make everything a little neater, though in the past from doing that I've broken song names and I'd just like something that's standard, or uniformed. Also iTunes generally handles artists by folder.
So if you have "Artist" and "Artist (Feat. Name)" there will be two folders, one for each.

Example 1: Benny Benassi - Cinema (Feat. Gary Go)
Example 2: Benny Benassi Feat. Gary Go - Cinema

Example 1: Blackmill Feat. Loz Contreras - Sarajevo (Blackmill Remix)
Example 2: Blackmill - Sarajevo (Feat. Loz Contreras) (Blackmill Remix)

2.) Audio File Types