Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: FLAC Frontend - compression level, and logging (Read 6377 times) previous topic - next topic

FLAC Frontend - compression level, and logging

Hi guys

I'm relatively new to FLAC, but it seems like a perfect format to me!
I have a few questions about the functions of FLAC Frontend

At the moment I always rip my CDs in 320kb CBR MP3 format, but having purchased a new external HDD I have the space to use FLAC from now on.

So I've installed FLAC, and got FLAC Frontend from
http://members.home.nl/w.speek/flac.htm

I normally use EAC to convert to WAV, then use whatever frontend (RazorLame for MP3) to convert the files in batches.

But I have some questions about the FLAC Frontend.

1) What are the different encoding level options I see in the FLAC Frontend interface?
I'm guessing they balance the amount of compression with the time taken to encode - but in my tests with a 60MB WAV file, it resulted in a marginal 4MB difference between level 4 and level 8.
I'm not bothered about saving that 4MB over a 60MB file - so what's the best setting in FLAC Frontend?

2) The verify option
Is that all I need to do to ensure my FLAC files have been created properly?

3) Logging FLAC
Are there any options in FLAC for the logging of the conversion of the files?
In FLAC Frontend there doesn't seem to be any options, and looking through the switches of flac.exe I couldn't see anything either.

4) I've gathered from other posts on this forum that Replaygain doesn't really add advantage to what I'm doing.