Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: FLAC 24bit 192khz file playback: Only 44.1 khz on DAC (Read 1178 times) previous topic - next topic

FLAC 24bit 192khz file playback: Only 44.1 khz on DAC

Hi,

I am new to fb2k and also rather new to digital audio, so please bare with me if I ask silly questions.

My setup: Win10, ASIO driver (from Cambridge Audio), Cambridge Audio DacMagic 200M 2.0

I downloaded some music files in FLAC format, 24bit, 192khz sampling rate. When I play them using fb2k, the DAC only shows 44,1 khz (LED and Control Panel App in Windows).

What can I do to send 192khz output do the DAC?

Thanks in advance,
Stefan B.

PS: I tried to serach the forums for this topic, but I did not find something matching. Maybe my bad...

Re: FLAC 24bit 192khz file playback: Only 44.1 khz on DAC

Reply #1
The operating system mixes the various sound sources together for output, so has to resample to a common rate (or demand that the sources use a common rate).  To achieve what you want you will need to assign FB2K (or whatever) exclusive output.  I'm sure somebody more knowledgable will be along to explain how...
It's your privilege to disagree, but that doesn't make you right and me wrong.

Reply #2
https://www.cambridgeaudio.com/row/en/products/hi-fi/dacmagic/dacmagic-200m
That's your DAC, check "TECH SPECS" for "DIGITAL INPUT SAMPLING FREQUENCIES SUPPORTED".

A clean install of foobar2000 includes WASAPI output only, and is set to shared mode by default, which will resample to the sample rate set in the Windows sound settings.