Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: How do you install Rubyripper! (Read 7173 times) previous topic - next topic

How do you install Rubyripper!

Venturing out into the unknown world Linux.  I need help with installing Rubyripper on system using Ubuntu 8.04.  I have no experience with Linux and need help..Please post any info about how to install.  Thanks

Reply #1
You can download the source code from the googlecode website.

Then extract into a temporary directory using the built-in archive manager or from the command line by opening a terminal window (Applications->Accessories->Terminal)

# tar xjf rubbyripper-0.5.3.tar.bz2

Then from the readme file:

Code: [Select]
3. HOW TO INSTALL

Dependencies:
* cdparanoia
* ruby-gettext (for translations)

Suggested:
* ruby-gtk2 (for gtk2 gui)
* cd-discid or discid (for proper freedb support)
* eject or diskutil for MacOS (for eject support)
* flac, oggenc, lame (if the codec is wanted)
* wavgain, vorbisgain, mp3gain (for replaygain support)
* normalize (for normalize support)

Run from directory:
(1) ./rubyripper_gtk2.rb or
(1) ./rubyripper_cli.rb

To install:
(1) ./configure --enable-lang-all --enable-gtk2 --enable-cli --prefix=/usr or
(1) ./configure --enable-lang=de,hu --enable-gtk2 --enable-cli --prefix=/usr
(2) make install
The executables will be named `rrip_cli` and `rrip_gui`

To uninstall: (1) `make uninstall`
To cleanup: (1) `make clean`

If you need to install some missing dependencies, use 'synaptic' or 'apt-get'.
Is your perfect hearing worth <$200? -- USE EAR PLUGS

Reply #2
i'll have a debian package available at rarewares soon. hold tight.

Reply #4