Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: FLAC to AAC - Encoder Suggestion (Read 7616 times) previous topic - next topic

FLAC to AAC - Encoder Suggestion

I am a newbie to the Lossless audio world. I know this question has been answered several times before . But I couldn't find any updated information. Will be nice if you guys post a sticky for best encoders. Anyways here is my question.

I recently converted all my audio cd's to FLAC's with all necessary tags using MP3 Tag (Title, Artist, Album, Year, Track, Album Artist, Composer, Copyright, Publisher, Lyricist). I now want them to be converted to some High-Quality lossy format to be played in my Android mobile.

Since AAC is better than MP3 (Correct me if I am wrong), I tried converting an FAAC file to M4A in different encoders and these are the results (attached spek images)

dBpoweramp (FDK AAC) - Converts with most of the tags intact, but higher frequencies were cut off with ~260kbps bitrate @Highest Quality Settings.
NCH Switch (FAAC)- Lost most of the tags, looks almost lossless with ~300kbps bitrate @Highest Quality Settings.
Foobar 2000 (Apple AAC) - Most of the tags are intact, looks almost lossless with ~360kbps bitrate @Highest Quality Settings.
Nero AAC UI (Nero AAC) - Lost most of the tags, looks almost lossless with ~420kbps bitrate @Highest Quality Settings.

With these different results from different software I am now confused which one to use. I have few questions.

1) Higher Bitrate = Higher Quality?
2) Does audio spectrum really matter?
3) Is dBpoweramp that good even with loss in higher range?

Re: FLAC to AAC - Encoder Suggestion

Reply #1