Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: MP3 Duration Problem in Win7/XP (Read 4571 times) previous topic - next topic

MP3 Duration Problem in Win7/XP

Hi Folks,

First ever post, so please bear with me 

I'm not an audio expert (background is electronics) but I've been doing some DIY forensics on a supposed 'contract call' MP3 recording for an issue my wife had last year, we know that the recording has been heavily edited. We're quite safe from the scam now, but I wanted to prove that my wife's version of events was correct for her sake. I've managed to pull the thing apart on a number of angles,
for example, ENF extraction that a forensics lab based a couple of miles away from the offending rogue business, said was non-existent, multiple ENF's, phase errors in the ENF, spectrogram edits, multiple transcoding upscaling, noise floor problems, power harmonics, filtering etc and the evidence is quite overwhelming that
the file has been tampered with. The call recording duration is about 8m 45s long according to most tools that I have access to. The actual original total call length according to the telephone log, was about 38 minutes long.
That wouldn't be a problem as these people only record the actual 'contract' part of the call, however, when doing some tests with the recording on one of our old Lab WinXP PC's at work, the system properties report the mp3 duration is 38m 24s and shows that same duration in WMP etc, not 8m 45s, but only plays for 8m 45s.