Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Audio Summing Algorithm (Read 12865 times) previous topic - next topic

Audio Summing Algorithm

hello

I'm a newbie in digital audio programming. Can anyone point me to an article/formula on how to mix two or more audio streams together? It's probably very simple, but I haven't found anything via Google/Bing.

I'm operating on 32-bit floats on a Mac and managing my own audio callback loop (not using Core Audio mixer objects)

Thanks,

Re: Audio Summing Algorithm

Reply #1
You just add the sample values. Nothing special needed. If you exceed 1.0, you can just clip when you convert the final result to integer samples, or divide every sample in the final result so that the highest peak is 1.0.

If you want to guarantee that there won't be any clipping during the mixing, you would need to divide the samples by the amount of streams to be mixed.

There are results for this on the net. You might want to search for "mixing audio samples clipping."

Reply #2
Obviously, in the worst case (as noted above), one needs to reduce the sum of the levels by the count of sources.  However, there are some possible modifications of that rule if you have control of the result (and just want to avoid blowing out your ears before tuning the levels later on.)   So here are the mathematical rules:

1)  in the general case, you need to divide the level by the count of inputs.   when doing this math, you need to be careful about underflow (esp if not properly dithered) and overflow during the actual summation.