Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Backup Playlists (Read 825 times) previous topic - next topic

Backup Playlists

Hi,

I am rather new to foobar2000 (using v1.4.6). I made a bunch of playlists which took quite a bit of time and then noticed I can use different skins for foobar and started playing around with them. At some point, I just decided to bring everything back to the default theme using Preferences > Default User Interface > Reset all. I lost all my playlists as well as all the keyboard shortcuts, etc.

Since I am planning to use foobar as my future DJ console, I need to learn how to back up my playlists. Any help here would be highly appreciated.

Also, since my laptop has a small hard drive, I am using an external drive where my library is stored. Do I need to back up my library in a specific way to maintain foobar's links to it?

Cheers

Re: Backup Playlists

Reply #1
Do note that when you hit the "Reset all" button you received a warning that it will nuke everything. You should always read warnings.

I recommend backing up the entire configuration directory and not just playlists. With normal install that's located at %appdata%\foobar2000. With portable install it's simplest to backup the entire install dir as configuration can be spread everywhere there.
There is also Autosave & Autobackup component but it's dangerous to use. It hasn't been updated in a decade and it by default leaves all new playlist locations out. And with new foobar2000 versions the playlist locations can change and they would once again be left outside the backup.