Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: How to correctly fixup unpacked PCM samples? (Read 3570 times) previous topic - next topic

How to correctly fixup unpacked PCM samples?

Hi, I'm very new to the topic of audio de-/compression, so probably the answer           
to my question may be very obvious.                                                      

My aim is to write a very simple wavpack unpacker/decoder in C++ to compute              
AccurateRip checksums directly on wavpack'ed CD rips. It's currently a fun               
project on my own.                                                                       

I started by creating a losslessly encoded .wv file from a 16 bit stereo                 
interleaved low endian PCM RIFF/WAV file (created from a CD with EAC) to have            
test input. My decoder so far reads this wavpack file, verifies it is lossless +         
16bit stereo with 44100 samples/sec and then processes the sequence of unpacked          
samples one by one.                                                                      

Now, my problem: From the .wv file, I need to reconstruct the original sample            
sequence with each unpacked, decoded 16bit stereo PCM sample pair (for left and          
right channel) represented as a uint32_t that contains one 16bit sample in its           
upper and the corresponding other sample in its lower bytes. This is the                 
representation my checksum calculator expects. (It works already for                     
RIFF/WAV-PCM, so I have the checksums of the original file as a reference.)