Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Microsoft releases free optimizing C++ compiler (Read 7677 times) previous topic - next topic

Microsoft releases free optimizing C++ compiler

Reply #25
Does anyone know if this compiler supports more of C99?

No, it doesn't support C99 in it's entirety. Small C99 changes like C++ style comments, longer identifier names etc. have been around for ages, but not the large ones.

Microsoft and msdn.com are both totally silent about C99 -- as a very interested programmer I tried to search for C99 compliance documents, without any success. It seems very likely that MS is just going to ignore C99 completely. I guess it makes sense since MS is currently pushing C++ and .NET so much.

C99 will have a pretty grim future if only GCC cares to implement it

Reply #26
I won't get myself involved in the Microsoft versus Linux debate since I think it's rather irrelevant, even though I'm a big supporter of open source.  VCToolkit 2003 only runs on Windows so I don't see how this affects Linux.  If Microsoft released a linux version of it, then it would certain raise an eyebrow.

Anyway, I think the only use of VCToolkit 2003 is learning C++ and compiling simple non-MFC programs.

EDIT:  Just downloaded and installed it.  It doesn't include MFC.

Reply #27
Anyway, I think the only use of VCToolkit 2003 is learning C++ and compiling simple non-MFC programs.

You need to install the Platform SDK to build GUI apps.  Yeah, it's a pretty bare-bones release.  It only includes the compiler and linker.  Other utilities, such as lib and nmake are missing  ...an incentive for you to upgrade to Visual Studio.