Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Music Formats? (Read 1456 times) previous topic - next topic

Music Formats?

Pardon me if this is common knowledge or already posted. I am new to Foobar2K and all things beyond shoving in a CD and hitting play.

I am wanting to rip my CD's onto my computer and play them on Foobar2K but I see no option in FB2K to rip. Also discovered that there are more formats than you can shake a stick at. Why should I use anything other that just simple ripping. I see that there is a lot of talk about FLAC, Is the best format or something?

EDITED. Just found the place in FB2K for ripping. I still dont see an option to rip for FLAC?

Re: Music Formats?

Reply #1
I would suggest using EAC (Exact Audio Copy) for ripping music CDs. This app is dedicated for that purpose. There are many detailed tutorials on the web how to configure EAC for ripping music in FLAC (which is lossless format) and MP3 (which is lossy format).

Reply #2
FLAC is an audio format that is popular as it's an exact copy of the original audio from the CD while still reducing its original size via compression (think something like a ZIP, which when restored contains everything as it was placed in there to begin with). Because of this it's a 'lossless' format. No audio info was lost, which is why many like to rip to it.

Not sure what formats you're used to but MP3 for example is a 'lossy' format, meaning it's not an exact replication of the original audio, however at high enough bitrates (conversion quality) I've seen results from some public listening tests that have found it indistinguishable from lossless anyway.