Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Theory of -Z vs. -X3 (Read 5318 times) previous topic - next topic

Theory of -Z vs. -X3

I apologize to Dibrom and everyone for asking about switches which they probably have already explained...but I have been awaiting the FAQ that people speak about and I'm dying for more knowledge... :-)

I like the quality that --dm-preset standard gives in Lame 3.90 alpha 7 August 16th build (in win32lame1.7).

Originally Dibrom recommended -Z for higher quality and then -X3

I have some knowledge of the difference but could use some correcting and enlightenment on what I understand correctly and incorrectly...I truly appreciate any help.

Correct analysis?:
----------------------

(1) adding -Z to --dm-preset standard disables scalefac (and (noiseshaping too?)  It increases the bitrate but gives more quality to files that have many transients.  I don't know if it has any benefits to files without transients...

Unfortunately I forgot what scalefactors were...please help...

(2) adding -X3 to --dm-preset standard alters the noise shaping algorithm, which works WITH scalefac, I believe.  The bitrate goes up considerably but the quality should be better because noise shaping deals with quantization, and the quantization of the music should be more accurate with -X3 than without it.
I think this helps all types of music not just transient-stuff...

(3) adding both -Z and -X3 seems to be self-defeating (Because one works with scalefac the other disables scalefac) am I right?