Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Does Foobar really modify my files? (Read 3632 times) previous topic - next topic

Does Foobar really modify my files?

Hello,

I am a foobar newbie and i must admit i am really impressed. Just a question, when i put an album (directory) on foobar to play then i see from windows explorer that foobar changes the "modified" date tag to the date/time the album/directory is played. Why is that? is this harmfull?

Another question. Why does foobar sound so loud (good)? With winamp i always have to  turn the volume up and down because albums have different volumes but rarely with foobar. Does replaygain have something to do with that?

thank you

Reply #1
1) Do you have a component that changes tags every time a song is played, eg. Play Counter? Naturally, if a tag is edited, then the files modification date will change in Windows Explorer. If that's the case, it's just editing the metadata of the song and there's no impact on sound quality. So, it's harmless.

2) Well, replaygain should do the opposite - make things quieter. It normalizes albums based on their peak level, so Iron Maiden albums won't be 20 dB louder than a Pink Floyd album. My guess is you have a few DSPs enabled that increase the loudness of the song.
</signature>

Reply #2
1) Do you have a component that changes tags every time a song is played, eg. Play Counter? Naturally, if a tag is edited, then the files modification date will change in Windows Explorer. If that's the case, it's just editing the metadata of the song and there's no impact on sound quality. So, it's harmless.