Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Sakamoto "Piano" download from iTunes is clipping (Read 7955 times) previous topic - next topic

Sakamoto "Piano" download from iTunes is clipping

Hi,

It's my first time posting here, so please make allowances if I have done anything the wrong way!

I am wondering what anyone makes of the sound quality of these samples taken from Ryuichi Sakamoto's "Playing The Piano" recently bought from iTunes.

Specifically, I'm hearing some clipping in places. (Opening the file in an editor shows that the waveform is indeed getting clipped.)

The samples are:
sakamoto1.wav from track 2 "Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence"
sakamoto2.wav from track 7 "Tibetan Dance"
sakamoto3.wav from track 7 "Tibetan Dance"
sakamoto4.wav from track 8 "Thousand Knives"

Do you think it is that acceptable for a commercially released product? Or is it just to be expected?

Stewart.

Reply #1
Do you think it is acceptable for a commercially released product?
No. This is clearly audible clipping that could have been avoided with careful mastering.

ps: welcome to HA

Reply #2
Hi,

It's my first time posting here, so please make allowances if I have done anything the wrong way!

I am wondering what anyone makes of the sound quality of these samples taken from Ryuichi Sakamoto's "Playing The Piano" recently bought from iTunes.

Specifically, I'm hearing some clipping in places. (Opening the file in an editor shows that the waveform is indeed getting clipped.)

The samples are:
sakamoto1.wav from track 2 "Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence"
sakamoto2.wav from track 7 "Tibetan Dance"
sakamoto3.wav from track 7 "Tibetan Dance"