Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Wavpack hybrid and archiving (Read 6591 times) previous topic - next topic

Wavpack hybrid and archiving

Hey everyone,

I just started playing around with wavpack's hybrid lossy compression mode.
I don't fully understand how it differs from the mp3/aac/mpc compression modes. 

The author of wav pack says:
"WavPack will begin carefully discarding the least significant portion of the audio information to stay within the limit. Every effort is made to keep this inaudible, including the use of joint stereo, dynamic bit allocation and noise shaping."

Does this mean that wavpack has and uses a psycho-acoustic model like mp3?  Does it use short block and long blocks like mp3?  My guess is "NO" is the answer to both of these questions.  But does anyone know for sure?

If the answer is no the long/block short block thing, then it would seem that wavpack hybrid would have 0 (zero) problem with transients unlike lame....

Also the author says:
"320 kbps gives audibly transparent operation in the vast majority of cases . . ..at bitrates above 320 kbps, the measured quality of the hybrid mode rises rapidy (about 1 dB less added noise for each 14 kbps."

Have any of you tested wavpack at 320 kbps... how good is it? as good as mpc insane ? What if any types of artifacts does it have?

I need to archive a lot of files on cd-r and I want about a 4:1 compression ratio.  So I am thinking that if I raise the bitrate by 3x14 (namely, 320+42 = 362kbps) it should give 3db less noise than 320, and a 4:1 compression ratio.