Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Vynil or digital? (Read 47441 times) previous topic - next topic

Vynil or digital?

Hello at all,
I'm a new user and a novice too in this topics, I'm a composer but I'd want to know more about Hi-Fi. Maybe this question could be a little bit common: can you explain me the difference between the vynil sound and the digital sound? I know the first is analog and the second is digital but what can be considered the most high quality sound in your opinion?

Thank you in advance,

Gustmah

Re: Vynil or digital?

Reply #1
There is no "digital sound" because digital can easily recreate sound which is accurate well beyond the limits of human hearing.

OTOH vinyl can be shown to distort sound in a way that is easily perceivable.

Reply #2
Digital recording is more or less exact.  You record something and then play it back and you get what you recorded.

Vinyl is not.  You play it back and you get something that is fairly different from what you recorded. 

Beyond that you have to be more specific about what you want. 

Reply #3
I guess you are too young and you never listened to "scratchy" records?  :D 

Vinyl is technically inferior but there are some "audiophiles" who prefer vinyl.   To some extent it's a matter of taste...  There's nothing wrong with preferring vinyl...   Does a Stratocaster sound better than a Stradivarius?  ;)   ...So we can't say that digital "sounds better" or that vinyl "sounds better".