Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Foobar deleted my music (Read 3215 times) previous topic - next topic

Foobar deleted my music

Hi!
I am new to Foobar.  Earlier, I used MediaMonkey and MusicBee.
I installed Foobar 2000 to play my .wav, .flac files of high quality (16 bit; 24/96; 24/192) after reading rave reviews about it. Once installed, I added files from the connected external hard disk containing over one terrabyte of audio collection, It populated and the entire collection showed up in the library (but just the songs with details of artist, bitrate, file size etc. (the ones I wanted) were visible, without the folders, or at least, I did not see any folders or Library tree as shown in MediaMonkey or MusicBee or others.  I wanted to arrange them by folders so that I can choose to play them accordingly, so, I cleared the files in the library.

And Alas! All my files got deleted from the source as well (from my external hard drive).
My external hard disk has now only the folders but no songs in them.  WHY..?????????????
Can I retrieve them back..??   HELP PLEASE..

Re: Foobar deleted my music

Reply #1
So when you get a confirmation dialogue about deleting files, you just pressed "Yes"?

foobar2000 did delete your files, but it did it when you specifically asked it to do it, so nope, unfortunately there is no way to get your files back if they are not in your recycle bin. There are some programs that can retrieve deleted files, but how reliable they are, I have no idea.

Maybe this article gives some help to you: https://www.howtogeek.com/169344/how-to-recover-a-deleted-file-the-ultimate-guide/