Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Lossless streaming -- bit-perfect to CD? (Read 1638 times) previous topic - next topic

Lossless streaming -- bit-perfect to CD?

Being a cheapskate, I have zero experience with lossless streaming services** -- Qobuz, Tidal, etc . Not really interested in streaming as I like to have physical files, which I typically create with EAC, or see **.
I might be convinced to subscribe to a lossless stream serv .if I were convinced that:

(1) I could legally download a lossless file and forever-keep regardless of future continuity of a paid subscription.

(2) The file/album would be bit-identical to the CD or HD file.

** I have had very positive experience with buying WAV files from digital music services such as Beatport.
Linux Mint 64-bit. Intel Core i7-9700K CPU @ 3.60GHz × 8 . Kernel Linux 5.4.0-136-generic x86_64. Memory: 16GB. Mesa Intel UHD Graphics 630 (CFL GT2). Various external USB DACs. Schiit, Topping, etc

Re: Lossless streaming -- bit-perfect to CD?

Reply #1
(1) I could legally download a lossless file and forever-keep regardless of future continuity of a paid subscription.
You can't. I don't know of any streaming services that sell downloads or that has a "download" button.   The artist (or copyright holder) gets a fraction of a cent every time you stream and maybe 5 or 10 cents when you buy a song.

You can steal it by recording with Audacity and if it's not bit-perfect it should be close.