Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: input wanted: demystifying MP3 (Read 3955 times) previous topic - next topic

input wanted: demystifying MP3

Hey all! I'm a designer for Audacity. For the current 3.4 release, we've refactored our exporter and while we were at it, decided to hide the option to choose between stereo and joint stereo in MP3 for casual users. That decision came after reading this forum and wiki extensively, we just use -m j now. (for people who know what they're doing, talking to lame directly also is possible)

Naturally, I've now got some angry users claim that Joint Stereo "makes it narrow panned both channels too close together on the output meters" and want to make some explainer piece for this and other MP3 things in the near future.

So my question to you is: What are some other things related to MP3 or perhaps audio in general you wish the general public would know about? The two other things I'd like to touch upon so far are codec transparency (which makes "what's better quality - V0 or 320" usually academic) and ABX (so people can test for themselves whether what I'm saying is BS - or whether their long-held opinion is wrong). Anything else?

Re: input wanted: demystifying MP3

Reply #1
Where is this information going?   The user manual?   Somewhere else?

Maybe something about why to choose Constant, Variable, or Average.   ...I usually recommend Joint Stereo, and VBR because there's no need to "waste bits" on silence or "simple sounds".