Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Compiling a plugin using dev-c++/gcc (Read 6940 times) previous topic - next topic

Compiling a plugin using dev-c++/gcc

warning: I'm not very good at this. If you're easily offended by stupid mistakes, you should probably leave.

Ok, a while back someone tried to get the foobar sdk to compile using dev-c++, which uses gcc as its compiler. See here. Since I'd like to try to write a plugin sometime, but don't intend to buy and install a complete microsoft ide just for that, this interested me. Unfortunately, Ricky12369 didn't get very far. I got a bit further. The compiler managed to produce a foo_albumlist.dll. However, there are some important differences between "my" foo_albumlist.dll and the one supplied with foobar:

1. Foobar's dll is about 15 KB in size, mine is about 360 KB. I knew that the missing support for _declspec(novtable) was going to make a difference, but not this kind of a difference
2. Foobar's dll (obviously) works. Mine doesn't. It crashes foobar on startup.

Now there's actually something good about that. If I put a random dll or a random textfile in foobar's directory and call it foo_albumlist.dll, foobar refuses to open it. My dll is apparently recognized as an attempt at a foobar plugin. Now if it would just not crash foobar...