Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: RMS, SNR PCM Data (Read 7972 times) previous topic - next topic

RMS, SNR PCM Data

Hi guys,

I am new here so I apologise if this is the wrong place to be asking these questions.

First a little background. I'm currently in my last year of a software engineering undergraduate degree and am working on a project which 'intelligently' (basic) filters audio. I am using 16-bit mono PCM data to keep things simple. I have a speech sample, pure tone samples of varying frequencies and a white noise sample. These are then mixed together in different ways i.e speech+ tone, speech+white noise, speech + multiple tones and passed to the application.

So far I have gotten the application to discern whether the sample contains speech+tones or white noise (wideband noise i guess of any type) and other components. I have done this using the average magnitude of an FFT output using the following code (C#) :

private void avgMagnitude()
        {
            double sum = 0.0;
            for (int i = 2; i < fftOutput.Length; i += 2)
            {
                sum += fftOutput * fftOutput;
                sum += fftOutput[i + 1] * fftOutput[i + 1];
                sum = Math.Sqrt(sum);
            }
            sum = sum / (fftOutput.Length);
            avgMag = sum;
        }