Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: 4 Channel Digital Downloads? (Read 15411 times) previous topic - next topic

4 Channel Digital Downloads?

Great Community! I am proud to be here with you all. However, I am trying to understand something and am having a very hard time getting information from anyone or even anything on the internet. I am a music producer. I want to deliver my music in a Quadraphonic format to my listeners. My questions are:

1.) Do any of the smartphones, mp3 players, etc. have the ability to stream or play a multichannel music file? Does Foobar 2000 accomplish this or is there other hardware/components required?

2.) What medium do I have to use in order to get the music to my listeners? Can I provide my songs as digital downloads? If so, in what format? Also, I understand that CD is not an option so I assume that I could do a Quadraphonic mix on DVD and/or Blu Ray? Is that true and are those my only options?

I would love to be able to stream music to fans in a 4 channel format but keep hitting a brick wall when trying to get ANY info. on how multi channel audio is being used in today's environments.

I appreciate everyone on this page and am looking forward to any insight regarding my questions.

I apologize if they are uneducated, but like I stated, I am a newbie when it comes to producing in 4 channel audio.

Respectfully,
--Ivan

Reply #1
1.) Do any of the smartphones, mp3 players, etc. have the ability to stream or play a multichannel music file? Does Foobar 2000 accomplish this or is there other hardware/components required?