Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: ALAC hi-fi set up - novice here! (Read 6396 times) previous topic - next topic

ALAC hi-fi set up - novice here!

Hey guys, over the last few months I have been upgrading my hifi system, with my most recent purchase being an Arcam A18 amp.  Now it's time to upgrade my source. 

Speaking to some Linn fans they recommended either a used Ikemi CD player or said the future was the Sneaky DS media player.  Sadly both these options cost around £1,000 and I'm hoping to set up a source for a third of that. 

However, the idea of a media player did get me thinking the concept of digital music. 

Currently my only digital music is on the iPod - audio wise it is utter rubbish but obviously useful for when I'm on the move.  Thing is when I plug it into my stereo the sound is so bad yet the ease of use of iTunes is great.  The quality improves when I use the laptop as a source but it's still poor.  I would love to have the best of both worlds and create a digital source that actually is high quality and easy to use/set up. 

Would the following be possible/work well?

Store all music as ALAC in an old Apple TV 160gb, connected by optical TosLink to a Cambridge Audio DacMagic and then to the amp - using my iPod touch to wirelessly control the Apple TV unit and the play lists. 

Would the Apple TV send an ALAC signal to the DacMagic or would it adjust/change the level of compression before hand.  Can the DacMagic even work with the output from Apple TV?