Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Transcoding MP3 to FLAC (Read 2384 times) previous topic - next topic

Transcoding MP3 to FLAC

I'm using foobar to transcode and mp3 file to a flac. I'm aware this won't fix the quality at all. I just want to be able to improve its readability/transferability (sorry if I'm using the wrong term. I'm new to this) so that I can transfer it or even burn it onto a CD without any data loss. Will that work or will it function just like an mp3 and nothing will change?

Re: Transcoding MP3 to FLAC

Reply #1
U never ever convert a lossy source into a lossless one. Keep your tunes in mp3

Reply #2
But does it actually make the audio quality worse or anything? Cuz if it stays equally as lossy as it was when it was an mp3 then I'm fine with transcoding it. Mp3 and wav aren't always the best at properly storing id3 tags, so transcoding it to a flac would help with that. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to find the flac or wav version of this particular file so I don't want to be stuck.

Reply #5
I see. To clarify for danadam, I meant to prevent it from losing any more data if I were to, say, rip from a CD or burn it on a CD or anything like that.

Reply #6
Mp3 and wav aren't always the best at properly storing id3 tags

What software are you using to write/playback the mp3 files?  Are the tags disappearing or being truncated?  I've never bothered tagging WAV files, but I believe they can also use ID3 tags as well.