Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: FLAC Command Line Help Needed - EAC 1.0 beta 2 (Read 7889 times) previous topic - next topic

FLAC Command Line Help Needed - EAC 1.0 beta 2

Hello,

I am new to this forum - and I'm not very experienced or knowledgeable when it comes to most of the technical talk.  So please go easy on me!

I had been using EAC 0.95 beta 4 for a long time.  Recently, I noticed 1.0b2 is listed on your site as a "stable release" & figured it was time to update.  - especially since I have a new computer (Win 7 - i7 processor - 6GB RAM).  Note: I am creating FLAC files & later transcoding them to MP3 files for our iPods.  But in the home, I wanted lossless.

Here are my questions:

1)  I noticed that with EAC 1.0b2, the field names for the command line options have changed.  (i.e. Artist = "%artist%" now, instead of "%a".)  Many (most) of the online setup guides have not caught up to this change.  What is a recommended command line option to use now?

2) Can someone please explain just what the command line options are for?  What exactly are you providing there & telling the program to do?

3) What does the -T mean?  Are you telling the program which fields to use & populate in the tag?

4) In many of the guides I've looked at, the compression level is at the beginning of the sequence. For example, this is the sequence I had been using before in 0.95b4:
-V -8 -T "artist=%a" -T "title=%t" -T "album=%g" -T "date=%y" -T "tracknumber=%n" -T "genre=%m" %s

In this example pulled from your site http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?title=EAC_and_FLAC, the compression level is found near the end: