Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Help with MP3 Tags (Read 5114 times) previous topic - next topic

Help with MP3 Tags

I have a mess with my music collection and mp3 tags. For example, some tags show on some listening devices, some do not. I am new to tagging, and am hoping for help to make all of the tags consistent. Several questions:

1.  Should I be using just one tagging system (ID3v1, ID3v2, ID3v2.3, ID3v4) or all of them? Are there others?
2.  Do all tracks have information in each of these tags? Should they?
3.  Can one track show different information in two different tags?
4.  How can I make them all show the same information?
5.  Is there any way to see exactly what is in each tag? I have FOOBAR, but there is no way (that I can see) to switch between the tags... to see, for example, what is in ID3v2, and what is in ID3v2.3.

Please save me if you have a minute?

Re: Help with MP3 Tags

Reply #1
1.  Should I be using just one tagging system (ID3v1, ID3v2, ID3v2.3, ID3v4) or all of them? Are there others?
2.  Do all tracks have information in each of these tags? Should they?
3.  Can one track show different information in two different tags?
4.  How can I make them all show the same information?
5.  Is there any way to see exactly what is in each tag? I have FOOBAR, but there is no way (that I can see) to switch between the tags... to see, for example, what is in ID3v2, and what is in ID3v2.3.